Firm Life: News and notes from the legal community


Chuhak & Tecson principal Eileen M. Sethna was appointed to lead the firm’s 28-attorney banking practice group.

Hinshaw & Culbertson named partner and past government practice group leader Robert T. Shannon as managing partner; added partner Michael M. Marick to the management committee; named partners Sergio E. Acosta and Scott M. Seaman as practice group leaders; and named Diane E. Webster and Rockford-based Matthew M. Hevrin office partners-in-charge.

Nielsen Zehe & Antas elected Joanne Marie Rogers to partner.

Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart elected Richard L. Samson as the new managing shareholder, succeeding Robert P. Casey.

Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom named Lara A. Flath and Matthew J. Hofheimer new counsels.


To Arnstein & Lehr: partners Arthur H. Evans, Daniel M. Loewenstein and J. Christian Manalli from Evans Loewenstein Shimanovsky & Moscardini and associate Aaron M. Zeid, corporate transactions and counseling practice, from Great Shot Golf.

To Barnes & Thornburg: partner Brett H. Pyrdek, litigation department, from JPMorgan Chase & Co. in London.

To Dykema Gossett: Abad Lopez, labor and employment practice, from Seyfarth Shaw.

To Faegre Baker Daniels: partner Paul D. Patrow, tax and corporate practices, from Thompson Coburn.

To Foley & Lardner: Louis S. Cohen from Locke Lord and Elgie R. Sims Jr., who is currently the Illinois state representative for the 34th District, to the business law department as of counsel.

To Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani: partner W. Kent Carter, commercial litigation practice group, from Clark Hill.

To Greensfelder Hemker & Gale: attorney John L. Senica, business services practice group, from Miller Canfield Paddock & Stone.

To Honigman Miller Schwartz & Cohn: partner Jeffrey A. Chelstrom, intellectual property department’s patent practice group, from Fitch Even Tabin & Flannery.

To Ice Miller: associate Deepali Doddi, data security and privacy practice, from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office for Civil Rights.

To Jenner & Block: partners Barbara R. Grayson, from Mayer Brown, and H. Debra Levin, from Seyfarth Shaw, to co-chair Jenner’s new private wealth practice. They are joined by department counsel Anne E.C. Brynn from BMO Harris Bank.

To LaRose & Bosco: David W. Rosemeyer, Jamie L. Wolf and David J. Aron.

To McDermott Will & Emery: partner Erin A. Kartheiser to the health and welfare benefits and qualified plan practices.

To Neal Gerber & Eisenberg: associate Elizabeth E. Radichel, real estate practice group, from Blank Rome in New York City.

To Nielsen Zehe & Antas: associate Preetha Jayakumar, from Daniel P. Costello & Associates.

To Ropes & Gray: associate Matthew A. Brunmeier, from Vedder Price, and associate Kelly A. Pendergast, from Chapman and Cutler, to the investment management group.

To Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton: partner Kevin M. Ryan, finance and bankruptcy practice, from Winston & Strawn.

To Shook Hardy & Bacon: partner Hugh A. Abrams, intellectual property practice, from Sidley Austin.

To Tressler: attorney Michael J. Peters, government law practice, from Field and Goldberg.


Freeborn & Peters partner Anthony J. Zeoli was appointed to the board for Crowdfund Intermediary Regulatory Advocates, the primary trade organization for the crowdfunding and peer-to-peer lending industries.

Rebecca K. Wohltman, an associate at Belleville-based Mathis, Marifian & Richter, was elected to the board of trustees at McKendree University in downstate Lebanon. She will work on capital campaigns, academic affairs, resource development and endowments.


The John Marshall Law School Alumni Association recognized Michael L. Gesas, managing part of Arnstein & Lehr’s Chicago office, with its 2016 Distinguished Service Award.

The Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois honored Hinshaw & Culbertson partner Sergio E. Acosta with its 2016 Aguila Award, which is given to an HLAI member who demonstrates professional accomplishment, community service and dedication to the organization.

The International Association of Outsourcing Professionals inducted Kirkland & Ellis partner Gregg Kirchhoefer into the 2016 IAOP Leadership Hall of Fame.

Marshall Gerstein & Borun partner Pamela L. Cox was honored in Beijing at this year’s annual conference of the Licensing Executives Society International with the President’s Award for Individual Service, recognizing her years of leadership as chair of the LESI Life Sciences Committee.