News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community
November 2016


Davis, Friedman promoted Benton Hutul Page from associate to partner.

Ice, Miller LLP promoted Shelly A. Scinto from project attorney to of counsel.

Niro Law Ltd. named partner Paul K. Vickrey its new president and managing partner and named shareholders Dean D. Niro, Arthur A. Gasey and Vickrey to its board of directors.


To Anderson Rasor & Partners: associate Tyler R. Creekmore from the Lake County Public Defender’s Office.

To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: members Thomas K. Hanekamp and Catherine Connelly Warren, both from Tressler.

To Banner & Witcoff: of counsel Mark A. Dalla Valle from Vedder, Price and associate Justin M. Philpott from Jones, Day.

To Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd: associates Giselle B. Safazadeh from Jenner & Block and Jeremy M. Press from Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld.

To Clausen Miller: partner Lisa A. Hausten as a partner from the Law Offices of Lisa A. Hausten.

To DLA Piper: partner Nathaniel M. Marrs, finance practice, from Latham & Watkins.

To Drinker Biddle & Reath: partner James G. Lundy from ABN AMRO Clearing Chicago.

To Dussias Skallas Wittenberg: associates Kathleen A. Opal and David J. Zwaska.

To Faegre Baker Daniels: partner Nora S. Tauke Schweighart, finance and restructuring practice, from Kirkland & Ellis.

To Holland & Knight: partner Timothy Ray from Dentons.

To Howard & Howard: attorneys Michael F. Braun, James L. Komie, Michael D. Lee and Laurie A. Perez, all from Schuyler Roche & Crisham.

To Kirkland & Ellis: partner Javier H. Rubinstein from PricewaterhouseCoopers International Ltd.

To McAndrews Held & Malloy: associate Matthew Marrone from Tarolli, Sundheim, Covell & Tummino in Cleveland.

To McDonald Hopkins: associate Christopher J. Riley, business department, from Lowis & Gellen.

To Polsinelli: Thomas L. Gemmell from Husch Blackwell.

To Tressler: associate Stacey L. Wilkins, litigation and insurance practices, from Stellato & Schwartz.

To Tucker Ellis: partner Jeffrey Sandler, mass tort and product liability group, from Ingersoll Rand Inc.; of counsel James Hemmings, business and pharmaceutical litigation, from Spectrum Brands Inc.; and associates Christopher T. Gardino and Branden A. Gregory, mass tort and product-liability group, and Brittany L. Weiss and Katherine Garceau, medical device and pharmaceutical liability group.

To Waltz Palmer & Dawson: associate Carolyn McGuire, business and commercial litigation practice, from Schroeder & McGuire in Palatine.


Bradley G. Lane, a patent litigator and shareholder at Brinks Gilson & Lione, has been appointed to a two-year term as Public Interest Law Initiative’s board president.

Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd partner Jason S. Dubner has been named vice chair of the American Bar Association Section of Antitrust Law, Insurance and Financial Services Committee.

Freeborn & Peters partner Alexander S. Vesselinovitch was appointed as co-chair of the International Criminal Law Committee of the ABA Section of International Law.

Ice Miller attorney Enzo Incandela joined the Children’s Research Fund as a board member.

Ice Miller attorney Christopher McCleary has joined Bluestem Housing Partners as a board member.

Jones Day partner Daniel E. Reidy was elected to the American College of Trial Lawyers’ board of regents.

Kirkland & Ellis partners Andrew R. McGaan and Mark R. Filip have become fellows of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Craig P. Mannarino, personal-injury lawyer at Kralovec Jambois & Schwartz, has been accepted as a fellow into the International Academy of Trial Lawyers.

Locke Lord attorney David F. Standa has been elected to Cabrini Green Legal Aid’s board of directors.

Loyola University Chicago School of Law welcomed Jordan Paradise to its full-time faculty.

Mayer Brown partner William Michael Jr. has been inducted as a fellow into the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Quarles & Brady partner James I. Kaplan has been appointed to the University of Chicago Law School Visiting Committee.

Tucker Ellis partner Sherry A. Knutson was elected an International Society of Barristers fellow.


Barnes & Thornburg gave honors to Janice L. Block, chief administrative and legal officer at Kaplan Inc.; Jodi J. Caro, general counsel and corporate secretary at ULTA Beauty; 1st District Appellate Court Justice Joy V. Cunningham; and M. Faiyaz Hussain, senior counsel, global law department at Baxter Healthcare Corp. at its seventh annual Celebration of Diversity dinner in September.

Chuhak & Tecson principal Lindsey Paige Markus received the 2016 Davis, Gidwitz & Glasser Young Leadership Award from the Jewish United Fund of Metropolitan Chicago.

The Midwest Region of American Friends of The Hebrew University honored Sidley Austin partner David H. Hoffman during its Jerold S. Solovy Torch of Learning Award dinner.

Katten Muchin Rosenman was selected to receive Chevron Law Function’s 12th annual Law Firm Diversity Award.

Salvi Schostok & Pritchard partner Jennifer L. Ashley received a 2016 Women of Distinction Award from the Lake County Journal.


Freeborn & Peters announced the formation of its environmental law and toxic torts practice group. Headed by Philip L. Comella, the group focuses on emerging and long-standing issues in environmental law and toxic torts with concentrations in waste disposal and treatment, recycling, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), enforcement and defense and environmental cleanups.

Attorneys Jennifer B. Salvatore, Sarah S. Prescott and Julie B. Porter announced a new law partnership to be called Salvatore Prescott & Porter. The firm will specialize in employment and civil rights litigation as well as criminal defense and investigations. Salvatore and Prescott will head the Detroit office while Porter will run the Chicago office.


The Illinois Supreme Court appointed 6th Judicial Circuit Judge Randall B. Rosenbaum at large to the vacancy created by the retirement of circuit judge Harry E. Clem.

The Illinois Supreme Court appointed Stephanie D. Saltouros, a Cook County circuit judge. She will fill the 10th Judicial Subcircuit vacancy created by the appointment of former circuit judge Eileen M. O’Neill Burke to the 1st District Appellate Court.