News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community
March 2019


Banner & Witcoff elected Eric J. Hamp, Sean J. Jungels, Kevin C. Keenan, Anna L. King, Justin M. Philpott, Victoria R. McDonald Webb and Bennett A. Ingvoldstad as shareholders.

Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg added the following attorneys to its practice leadership: Nathan Q. Rugg, as co-chair of the bankruptcy and creditor rights group; Lynne D. Mapes-Riordan and Andrew K. Strimaitis, co-chairs of the compensation and employment group; Scott J. Slavick, co-chair of the intellectual property group; and Michael J. Towne to its practice leadership, co-chair of the tax and business planning group.

Megan M. McKeon was named director of business development at Clark Hill.

Doherty & Progar named Ryan A. Danahey as a partner.

Drinker Biddle & Reath named David L. Williams and Levi J. Giovanetto as partners.

Franczek promoted Melissa D. Sobota of the labor and employment and education practice groups to partner.

Kelleher & Buckley in Barrington elevated Linda S. Fine and Robert A. Holland, both co-chairs of the estate planning and estate settlement groups, to equity member.

Lavelle Law elevated Lance C. Ziebell of the litigation and employment law practice groups to shareholder and Patti S. Levinson of the family law practice group to partner.

Jennifer A. Kenedy was reelected as one of three vice chairs of the Locke Lord executive committee, while Steven T. Whitmer and Michael J. Gaertner were added as new members. Ashlee M. Knuckey, Myoka Kim Goodin and Benjamin P. Sykes were also added as new members to the firm’s board of directors.

Nixon Peabody promoted Deanna R. Kunze to partner.

O’Connor & Battle elevated Robert J. Cheris to partner.

Quintairos, Prieto, Wood & Boyer named Anthony L. Schumann as chair of the government enforcement and corporate internal investigations practice group.

Roetzel & Andress named Michael J. Scotti III to lead the business litigation practice group. He succeeds Paul A. Giordano of the firm’s Fort Myers, Fla., office.

Schenk Annes Tepper Campbell promoted Alex W. Norlander to principal.

Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton promoted Benjamin A. Huffman of the energy, infrastructure and project finance industry group and the real estate, land use and environmental practice group to partner.

Stephan Zouras promoted Catherine T. Mitchell to partner.

Swanson, Martin & Bell promoted Andrew J. Albright, Joshua E. Bidzinski, Sarah A. Ferrill, Erica S. Longfield, Kristine C. Reveille and Stephanie Rifkind to partner.

Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker promoted Patricia M. Noonan and Michael J. O’Malley to nonequity partner.


To ADR Systems: retired Cook County circuit judge Kay M. Hanlon and retired 18th Circuit judge Ronald D. Sutter.

To Akerman: partner Mary K. Samsa, tax practice.

To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: of counsel Michael J. Hayes Sr.

To BatesCarey: associates Theresa M. Carroll and Melissa A. Sereda from Kennedys CMK, associate Ranjini S. Rajan from Adler Murphy & McQuillen and first-year associate Kyle Mitchell.

To Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff: former assistant U.S. attorney Stephen C. Lee to the white collar, government investigations and regulatory compliance practice group; state Rep. Robert M. Morgan, D-Deerfield, as a partner in the health-care and life sciences practice group; and associate Laura Daina Pone, health-care and life sciences practice group.

To Bernstein Law Firm: partner Jay D. Stein from Stein & Stein.

To Carlson Dash: Julia A. Steinway, estate planning practice.

To Chicago Law Partners: Danielle N. Twait, trade and association law practice.

To the Cook County State's Attorney Office: Christina M. Faklis Adair, civil actions bureau, torts and civil rights division, from Gozdecki, Del Giudice, Americus, Farkas & Brocato.

To Cresset Capital Management: general counsel William A. Rudnick from DLA Piper.

To Drost Kivlahan McMahon & O’Connor: Harry E. Bartosiak.

To Freeborn & Peters: partner Michael D. Whitty, trusts and estates, family office and corporate practice groups, from Handler Thayer.

To Holland & Knight: partners David W. Wirt, executive partner of the Chicago office and co-chair of the firm’s national bankruptcy, restructuring and creditors’ rights practice group, and David J. Fischer, both from Locke Lord.

To Ice Miller: partner Gary D. Blachman, employee benefits group.

To the Illinois Health and Hospital Association: senior vice president and general counsel Karen K. Harris from Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr.

To Katten Muchin Rosenman: partner Matthew C. Sperry, trusts and estates department, from McGuireWoods.

To Levenfeld Pearlstein: partner Joseph W. Scharnak, community association practice group, from Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr.

To Locke Lord: of counsel Michael P. Rohan, insurance regulatory and transactional group, from the Illinois Department of Insurance, where he served as deputy director of consumer education and protection.

To the LOGS Network: chief revenue officer Jason H. Shapiro.

To Major, Lindsey & Africa: managing director David Weaver, interim legal talent group based in Chicago, from Robert Half Legal.

To Mayer Brown: of counsel Brett E. Legner, litigation and dispute resolution practice, from the Illinois Attorney General’s Office, where he served as deputy solicitor general.

To McGuireWoods: Margaret M. Seurynck, debt finance practice, from Jones Day.

To Nielsen, Zehe & Antas: Brian T. Bailey from Bailey & Bailey.

To Pretzel & Stouffer: associates Calvin A. Townsend II from the Chicago Transit Authority’s legal department and Alexander J. Beehler from Cook County Circuit Court as a law clerk for Law Division Circuit Judge James P. Flannery Jr.


Locke Lord associate Wasim K. Bleibel was named to the 2019 Fellows Program for the Leadership Council on Legal Diversity’s Pathfinder Program.

Steve T. Whitmer, a member of Locke Lord’s executive committee and chair of the firm’s Chicago litigation department, was selected as a fellow of the Litigation Counsel of America.

Swanson, Martin & Bell partner Michael W. Drumke was nominated to the American Bar Association’s Board of Governors for a three-year term which will commence following the conclusion of the ABA Annual Meeting in August.


Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale officer Kurt S. Schroeder was honored by the Greater Belleville Chamber of Commerce as its 2018 Citizen of the Year.


Drost Kivlahan McMahon & O’Connor acquired The Law Firm of Kerry W. Pearson in Arlington Heights.

The Law Office of Kevin H. Saville relocated to 70 W. Madison St., Suite 2222. The firm’s new phone number is (312) 285-2466; the new fax number is (312) 285-2393.

Peter S. Lubin and Patrick D. Austermuehle of DiTommaso Lubin Austermuehle opened a new firm, Lubin Austermuehle, 360 W. Butterfield Road, Suite 325, in west suburban Elmhurst. They also have offices at 1 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 3140, and 1116 Elmwood Ave., in north suburban Wilmette. Vincent L. DiTommaso separately opened a new firm, DiTommaso Law, with offices at 100 N. LaSalle St., Suite 2200, and 7W220 22nd St., Suite 410, in west suburban Oakbrook Terrace.