News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community


Boyle Feinberg Sharma promoted Arin R. Fife and Jennifer S. Tier to nonequity partners.

Chuhak & Tecson elevated principal David B. Shiner to shareholder and associate Christina M. Mermigas to principal.

Fox Rothschild elevated Marc C. Smith to partner.

Marshall, Gerstein & Borun elected partner Sandip H. Patel to its executive committee.

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius promoted Megan R. Braden to partner.


To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: associate Genc Arifi, litigation and employment law practice groups, from Tobin & Muñoz.

To Barnes & Thornburg: partner Peter J. Wozniak and of counsel Mark W. Wallin, both labor and employment department, both from Seyfarth Shaw.

To Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff: associates Helen M. Schweitz, Rebecca S. Vicario and George S. Stowe and patent agent Frankie W. Wong.

To Brady, Connolly & Masuda: associates Carolyn P. Murray and William F. Moore.

To cannabis operator Revolution Enterprises: general counsel Alissa “Ali” L. Jubelirer from Groupon.

To Carmen D. Caruso Law Firm: senior counsel James C. Stevens from the Illinois Attorney General’s Office.

To Chuhak & Tecson: associates Jasmine Morton, litigation group, from the Illinois Office of the State’s Attorneys Appellate Prosecutor; Zachary L. Beaver, banking group; and Andrew G. Fullett, banking group.

To Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth: associate Cristina M. Mares.

To Dykema Gossett: director of lateral recruiting Mary Beth Walsh from Hinshaw & Culbertson and senior counsel Lauren E. Quigley, corporate finance practice group, from Buckley Sandler.

To Franczek: associate Brianne S. Dunn, education practice group, from the Noble Network of Charter Schools; associates Caroline K. Kane and Emily M. Tulloch; and partner Tracey Lynne Truesdale, labor and employment practice group.

To Grant Law: associate Senija Grebovic from Tenenbaum Law Group.

To Hawkins Parnell & Young: of counsel John J. Kohnke from Segal, McCambridge, Singer & Mahoney.

To Ice Miller: partner Kathleen Sheil Scheidt, employee benefits group.

To Jenner & Block: partner Joseph J. Torres, Employee Retirement Income Security Act litigation practice. 

To Johnson & Bell: associate Martha E. Drouet.

To King & Spalding: partner Matthew L. Warren, corporate, finance and investments practice group, from Latham & Watkins.

To Lathrop Gage: partner Laura A. Labeots, intellectual property group.

To Lavelle Law: of counsel Parveen Kumar Goyal, immigration practice group.

To Mayer Brown: partner Marc E.M. Harrison, corporate and securities practice, from Greenberg Traurig.

To Much Shelist: associate Sarah Kwon, real estate group, from Schenk Annes Tepper Campbell.

To Quarles & Brady: partner Christopher N. Skey, energy, environmental and natural resources practice group.

To Roetzel & Andress: of counsels Judith S. Sherwin, corporate, tax and transactional group, and James V. Inendino, real estate group.

To Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr: partner Brian R. Michalek, intellectual property litigation practice.

To Taft Stettinius & Hollister: partner Paul D. McGrady, intellectual property practice group, from Winston & Strawn.

To Thompson Coburn: director of partner recruiting and integration Lesley S. Kagan Wynes from Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management.

To White & Case: partners William A. Guerrieri, global financial restructuring and insolvency
practice, and Jacob B. Schtevie, global banking practice.


Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff associate Elizabeth D. Winiarski was appointed as the inaugural secretary of membership for the Women’s Bar Association of Illinois.

IIT Chicago Kent College of Law associate professor Mickie Voges-Piatt was named to the board of directors for The Center for Intellectual Property Understanding.

The Illinois Judges Foundation, the charitable arm of the Illinois Judges Association, installed its new 2019-20 president and officers on May 31. They are: Cook County Circuit Judge Debra B. Walker as president, 22nd Judicial Circuit Judge Michael Chmiel as vice president, retired 18th Judicial Circuit judge Brian R. McKillip as secretary and Cook County Associate Judge Patrice Munzel Ball-Reed as treasurer.

The Illinois Trial Lawyers Association announced this year’s recipients of the William J. Harte Amicus Volunteer Award. They are Kirsten M. Dunne, associate at GWC Injury Lawyers; Sarah F. King, associate at Clifford Law Offices; David R. Nordwall, sole practitioner; Stephen S. Phalen, sole practitioner; Leslie J. Rosen, sole practitioner; and Stanley L. Tucker, partner at Tucker, Hartzell & Bryant in downstate Carthage.

Locke Lord partner and former state senator Kirk W. Dillard was approved by the Regional Transit Authority’s board of directors to serve a second term as chairman of the organization.

Marshall Gerstein & Borun partners Tiffany D. Gehrke and Pamela L. Cox were elected to serve on the board of directors for the Women’s Bar Association of Illinois and University Club of Chicago, respectively.

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck associate Adam M. Zebelian was appointed to The Chicago Bar Association’s board of managers for the 2019-20 term.


7th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Ilana Diamond Rovner received an honorary doctor of law, honoris causa, for outstanding contributions to the profession of law from Illinois Institute of Technology on May 18.

Carder Law Firm owner Deborah A. Carder received the 2019 Inspirational Woman Award from the DuPage Association of Women Lawyers.

Ann M. Lousin, a professor at The John Marshall Law School, received an award for “Three Bicentennial Articles Published in the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin” from the Illinois State Historical Society on April 26.

Katten Muchin Rosenman associate Alana M. Ibarra, commercial finance practice, was selected to participate in Pathfinder, a program designed by the Leadership Council on Legal Diversity to train early-career attorneys in career development strategies.

Stowell & Friedman managing partner Linda D. Friedman and Kathryn Carso Liss, director of DePaul University College of Law’s Family Law Center, were honored by The Chicago Bar Association’s Alliance for Women. Friedman received the Founder’s Award and Liss received the Alta May Hulett Award.