News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community
September 2019


Foley & Lardner named Christopher C. Cain to partner and the co-chair of the transactions practice group.

Clark Baird Smith in Rosemont promoted Roxana M. Underwood to partner. She focuses her practice on labor relations and employment litigation.

Aurora-based Woodruff Johnson & Evans promoted Russell P. Haugen to partner.

Priya J. Harjani was promoted to associate vice president at Northwestern University.


To BatesCarey: David F. Cutter as partner.

To Perkins Coie: Joydeep Dasmunshi as a partner in the mergers and acquisitions practice.

To King & Spalding: Brent P. Ray as a partner in the trial and global disputes practice group.

To Howard & Howard Attorneys: Joseph E. Silvia as a partner. Also, Christopher L. Schaeffer as an attorney in the business litigation practice group.

To Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila: Jeffrey W. Morof as a partner.

To Akerman: Kourtney A. Mulcahy as a partner in the intellectual property practice group.

To Levin Schreder & Carey: Elizabeth A. McKillip as a partner in the firm’s trust and estate controversy resolution group.

To Freeborn & Peters: Karen A. Hayes as a partner; Asama L. Itseumah as an associate in the corporate practice group.

To Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery: Maureen R. Smith as a partner.

To Eversheds Sutherland: Stacey Tobin Kern as a partner in the mergers and acquisitions and private capital groups within the corporate practice group.

To Nixon Peabody: Michael J. Summerhill as a partner in its complex commercial disputes practice.

To Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff: Bryna J. Dahlin as partner; James J. Ko and Samuel J. Ruggio as associates. Dahlin and Ruggio join the litigation practice group. Ko joins the health-care and life sciences practice group.

To Dykema Gossett: Robert D. Leavitt as a senior counsel of its financial group and business services department.

To Foran Glennon Palandech Ponzi & Rudloff: Joel Benton Daniel as a commercial litigation attorney.

To Michael Best & Friedrich: Rebecca L. Gerard as associate in the privacy and cybersecurity practice group.

To The Public Interest Law Initiative: Elizabeth R. Boe as its new managing attorney.

To Much Shelist: Ryan T. Cauley as an associate in the health-care group.

To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: Nicole M. Miller as an associate in the insurance coverage practice group.

To Johnson & Bell: Christian Luciano-Santiago as an associate.

To Polsinelli: Andrew L. Wool as a shareholder in the firm’s securities and corporate finance practice.

To Ice Miller: Scott A. Kuhagen as counsel in its immigration practice.

To Gould & Ratner: Robert C. Chidester as an associate in its corporate practice.

To Motherway & Napleton: Dominic C. LoVerde as associate.

To Greenberg Traurig: Moyenda Mutharika Knapp as counsel in the labor and employment practice group.

To Earthjustice: Debbie Chizewer as managing attorney of the new Chicago office. She’ll lead the litigation strategy for the Midwest, focusing on environmental issues in states throughout the region.

To Dinsmore & Shohl: Anna S. Morrissey as an associate in its commercial litigation group.

To Mayer Brown: Adam Paul as a partner and co-leader of the global restructuring, bankruptcy and insolvency practice.


The Illinois Bar Foundation elected its officers for the organization’s fiscal year. The newly elected officers are: President — Deane B. Brown, shareholder at Hughes Socol Piers Resnik Dym; First Vice President — William A. Peithmann, former principal of the Peithmann Law Office in Farmer City; Second Vice President — Lisa M. Nyuli, partner at Ariano Hardy Ritt Nyuli Richmond Lytle & Goettel in South Elgin; Third Vice President — Sandra Crawford, principal of Law Crawford; Treasurer — Mark L. Karno, principal of Mark L. Karno & Associates; Secretary — Lauren Tuckey Murray, attorney at Bellows Law Group.

The foundation appointed Cory White, Jessica R. Durkin, Kristin N. Barnette McCarthy and Sarah E. Toney as new members to its board of directors. Additionally, Susan Wehling Rogaliner, Claire A. Manning and Bridget C. Duignan were recently elected to the board of directors.

Quarles & Brady partner Randall R. Fearnow was elected to The Chicago Bar Foundation’s board of directors as of July 22.

Fox Rothschild partner Allen J. Guon was named chair of the association’s Bankruptcy and Reorganization Committee.

Levin & Perconti partner Michael F. Bonamarte IV was elected to chair the American Association for Justice’s Nursing Home Litigation Group.

Corboy & Demetrio partner Michelle M. Kohut was appointed to the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association’s board of managers for the 2019-20 term.

Jean Marie Wenger, director of the law library and senior lecturer at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law, was elected as a member of the International Association of Law Libraries’ executive board.


HeplerBroom partner James P. DuChateau was named the 2019 Illinois Association of Defense Trial Counsel Volunteer of the Year for his many contributions to the organization. Katie E. Jacobi, also a firm partner, earned the 2019 recipient of the Illinois Association of Defense Trial Counsel’s Rising Star Award.

Kogut & Wilson family law attorney Stephanie L. Tang received the Illinois State Bar Association’s Young Lawyer of the Year Award for Cook County.

Scharf Banks Marmor counsel Eric F. Quandt received the Professional Responsibility Award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association.

Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard managing partner Patrick A. Salvi II was presented with the American Association for Justice’s 2019 Wiedemann & Wysocki Award at the association’s PAC M-Club Luncheon in San Diego.


Attorney John B. Kincaid died Aug. 3. He was 80. He received his law degree from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law in 1963 and practiced civil law for almost 60 years, most notably at Mirabella, Kincaid, Frederick & Mirabella LLC in Wheaton.